A day in the life of a carer

My day often starts at around 5, 5:30am if I’m lucky, means it’s nearly summer the sun is normally making it’s way into the sky, but sometimes if I’m lucky I’ll get to see a beautiful sunrise and you can’t help but feel uplifted and grateful for a good start to your day. By 6:30am I’m out the house and on my way to work ready to start my usual shift at 7, once I arrive I normally chat with the other carers before handover is done and we begin with getting the residence up which will normally take us to around 8:30 which is when we start to serve breakfast and assist people. Most days go smoothly if not a little rushed, but sometimes something unexpected will happen and you just have to try and get on with it the best you can, yes it may put you behind the normal times (and yes the residence do notice if we’re even the slightest bit later) but nothing is ever straight forward, they’ll always be twists and turns. After breakfast it’s normally just cleaning up, checking people are okay, and getting them to where they want to be. Then at around 10:20 along comes the tea trolly because our residence cannot go without their teas, coffee’s and biscuits.

My day will finish around 4pm if everything has gone smoothy, but sometimes I’ll have different shifts to cover and might not finish till 10pm, which is hard when you have to be back in at 7am the next day; let me tell you. I haven’t been doing my job very long, but it is honestly so rewarding and really has brought out the best in me, I’ve become a lot maturer doing this job and a lot more aware that you should never take things for granted and appreciate the little things, just as much as the big.

Leave a Reply

